I’m thrilled to be touring the fabulous Carrie Jones with her latest book CAPTIVATE.

About CAPTIVATE:

In this NYT-Bestselling sequel to NEED, Zara and her friends knew they hadn’t solved the pixie problem for good. Far from it. The king’s needs grow deeper every day he’s stuck in captivity, while his control over his people gets weaker. It’s made him vulnerable. And now there’s a new king in town.

A turf war is imminent, since the new pixie king, Astley, is moving in quickly. Nick nearly killed him in the woods on day one, but Zara came to his rescue. Astley swears that he and Zara are destined to be together, that he’s one of the good guys. Nick isn’t buying it, though Zara isn’t as sure — despite herself, she wants to trust the new king. But it’s a lot more than her relationship with Nick that is at stake. It’s her life — and his.

And for the usual questions:

What inspired the plot for your book?
Well, CAPTIVATE is the sequel to NEED, and NEED was inspired by this weird thing that happened.

I was at the Common Ground Fair, which is this huge, cool fair in Maine that’s sponsored by the Maine Organic Farmers and Growers Association (MOFGA). To get to the main part of the fair you have to walk through this sweet trail that curves through these tall spruce trees.

While I was walking, right in front of me was this guy. He had a weird vibe. He was wearing all corduroy—blazer, pants. And sticking out from his blazer was this long tail-like appendage that was wrapped in different colored earth-toned cloth.

I guess he could tell I was checking him out because he turned his head and looked at me. His eye was this startling silver color. How startling? So startling that I actually gasped and got creeped out.
When we were in line to pay we made eye contact again and his eyes were brown.

I know! I know! I probably imagined the silver eye color.

It doesn’t matter. That was one of the main things that got me started. Then, I just had this image of a man standing outside an airport pointing at an airplane this girl was on.

It also creeped me out.

So, I started writing.

Why did you decide to write in this genre?
It was an experiment really. I’d been writing literary, contemporary YA and at Vermont College of Fine Arts (where I got my masters) they are always talking about taking chances with your writing and experimenting, so I did.

What is your writing process like?
I wake up. I pull myself out of bed. I flop on the floor. I crawl across the hardwood, dragging myself to the computer. I open it up. I stare. I stare some more. I will my fingers to move.
 I’m not a morning person.

What are you working on now?
The third novel in the NEED series, a horror novel collaboration with Steve Wedel.

What do you do when you’re not writing?
Kiss people

Who do you like to read?
Anyone and everyone. I am very easy.

What People are Saying About NEED and CAPTIVATE:

“If you asked Stephen King and Stephanie Myers to co-author a book, they would come up with NEED.” – Justine Magazine.

“An exciting venture filled with nasty evil creatures,
nail-biting action and heart-pounding romance.” 
—teenreads.com

“Romance, suspense, and a very clever heroine 
make this a must-read!” —Toledo Blade

“Genre fans will enjoy the sizzle between Nick and Zara 
as well as the paranormal cast.” —PW

“This book is for fans of Holly Black and Melissa Marr… fairy lovers crowd in! It’s got some really good reviews coming in already. We’re talking a love story people, with fairies – please, who would not buy this? So look out!”— Annette’s Book Blog

“Jones masterfully blends paranormal fantasy, suspense, and romance to craft a new supernatural tale that is certain to appeal 
to fans of dark urban fantasy like Marr’s Wicked Lovely and paranormal romances like Meyer’s Twilight books. A likeable cast 
of engaging and interesting characters combine with a plot that grabs readers and refuses to let go.” —VOYA

“A fast-paced novel worthy of the fantasy greats, 
Need will take you for a ride.” —VOYA, teen reviewer

About Carrie Jones:

1. Carrie can not drink coffee. It makes her insane. Do not give her caffeine.
2. Carrie is very responsive to loving strokes on the hair, kind of like a puppy. However, do not do this without asking first unless you are a ridiculously handsome man or an editor who is about to offer her a trillion dollars for the first draft of her novel.
3. Carrie is secretly really, really shy even though she’s pathetically outgoing in person. She has a very hard time calling people. So, if you want to talk to her, make the first move. And, if you’re her in-Maine female best friend, Jennifer, do NOT get mad at her because she is so bad at returning emails.
4. Carrie sometimes wears mismatched socks, if you do not think this is cool, do not tell her. You will hurt her feelings.
5. Carrie really, really wants you to like her books. Please like her books. PLEEEAASSSEEEE. She’ll be your best friend forever. That is, if you want a friend who is shy about calling and emailing and who wears mismatched socks and can’t drink caffeine and likes being pet on the head. Hhmmm….
6. Carrie is not above begging.
7. Carrie, like Belle in TIPS ON HAVING A GAY (ex) BOYFRIEND drinks Postum. It’s for the same reason, too.
8. Carrie loves Great Pyrenees dogs. They are huge and white, and furry and it looks like they have white eyeliner and mascara on, which is way too cute. Do you have one? Send a picture!
9. Carrie lives in Maine. She has a hard time with this in the winter. It is bleak in Maine in the winter. Imagine everything shades of gray and brown and no green anywhere except for in people’s noses. This is Maine in Winter. Maine in summer is the best place in the world, so it’s a trade-off. Feel free to invite Carrie to your house in the winter, but not if it’s in Greenland, Canada, or anywhere north of Florida.
Forget that. She’d still probably come.

Links:
http://www.carriejonesbooks.com
http://www.needpixies.com (This is where sneak peaks and contests are. You can win a computer. Seriously!)
http://www.facebook.com/carriejonesbooks?ref=profile
http://www.facebook.com/pages/Need-by-Carrie-Jones/53387039515?ref=ts

| Filed under Uncategorized